We Need Diverse Books Spotlight: Kody Keplinger

Meet the powerhouse author behind the popular book to movie, The DUFF!

Kody Keplinger is known for her incredible and descriptive realistic fiction.  Most of us have seen or heard of the movie, The DUFF about the "nerdy" girl who doesn't care what other people think of her, struggle through high school, stays true to herself, and finds love in the most unlikeliest of places.

The Duff

Run: My new favorite Keplinger book about two young girls, with nothing in common... so they think. From opposite backgrounds, these girls—one blind, and one from a tough home life, run away from home to find themselves and where they fit in the world.

Kody is a huge advocate for positive body image for young girls, and she spends a lot of her free time coming up with new ways to empower girls around the country.

Kody is also the co-founder of "Disability in KidLit," an organization that devotes its time to discussing the portrayal of disabilities in novels for Teens and Tweens. They actively seek to promote books that have positive portrayals of different teens/tweens in literature, and to get publishers, editors, and writers to get more of this literature out to the world.

Kody is especially proud of this organization, because Kody, herself, is legally blind.  In Kody's Blog, you can read about her struggles with eyesight that is 20/400.  She notes that she does not see "blackness" like we might first think when we hear the word, "blind," but the world for Kody is incredibly blurry, and colors tend to melt together. Kody does not let this stop her, as she continues to write incredibly moving and compelling realistic fiction.

You can follow Keplinger on Twitter, Facebook, or her blog.

If you've already read some Keplinger genius, try some of these read-alikes:

The List

The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big, Round Things

Love & Other Theories

Not If I See You First

Drowning Is Inevitable

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this limited public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of Arapahoe Libraries