8 Books to Read If You Love Pokémon Go

Or what to read while you wait for your phone to charge or the servers to work again...

If you, like me, have started your Trainer account and ventured out into the world in search of Pokémon, inevitably, your phone will die. What do you do? Don't despair! Stop by your local library (which is also, conveniently, a PokeStop), charge your phone, and check out these great books to satisfy the amateur adventurer in all of us.

For more fighting animals, try these:

Mort(e) by Robert Repino – Sentient animals led by hyper-intelligent ants seek to overthrow the humans. Mort(e) is an elite warrior house cat looking for his best friend, Sheba, the dog next door. Imagine Homeward Bound with mass murder of the humans.

Into the Wild by Erin Hunter - Clans of fighting warrior cats, battling for domination!

Pride of Baghdad by Brian K. Vaughan & Nico Henrichon - An eye-opening and heartbreaking true story about a pride of lions that escaped from the Baghdad zoo during the American bombing of Iraq in 2003. This is a very unique look at the effects of war.

Lockjaw and the Pet Avengers by Chris Eliopoulos & Ig Guara - Lockjaw, a teleporting puppy, has assembled a mighty team of animals to combat a foe even the Avengers weren't prepared for...Pet Avengers Assemble!

For more walking adventures:

A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson - Bryson entertainingly chronicles his attempt to hike the length of the Appalachian Trail.

Almost Somewhere by Suzanne Roberts - Part memoir, part nature writing, part travelogue, Roberts recounts her experience spending a month on California's John Muir Trail and how it changed her life forever. This book is candid, funny, and at times, incredibly wise.

Follow the Trail by Jessica Loy - An introductory camping and hiking guide for every young (or young at heart) adventurer.

Last of the Sandwalkers by Jay Hosler - Adventure, betrayal, exploration! All from the eyes of an exceptionally curious beetle. Throw in a copious amount of puns and lots of bug science, and this is a super fun read!

If you'd like to have more adventures of your own, check out the library's Check Out State Parks pass and backpack. Get out there and enjoy nature! Gotta catch 'em all!

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this limited public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of Arapahoe Libraries